Yesterday was the Mother’s Tea. Bubba and I had a fabulous time. There was lemonade and cake for the mommies and cupcakes for the little people, and strawberries and whipped cream. (Note the lack of tea—that always make me giggle!)

The teachers had practiced a selection of songs with the children from Japan, Mexico and the USA. Absolutely adorable! They sang It’s a Small World, Whole Earth (think He’s Got the Whole World only they named the 7 continents!), Mari San No Hitsuju (Mary had a Little Lamb), Atama, Kata, Hiza, Sumasaki (Head and Shoulders, Knees and Toes), Estrellita (Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star), Por favor Y Gracias, Macarena Math, Grand Old Flag, and Yankee Doodle Dandy.

And the art projects from around the world were fabulous! There were platos de fruitos, mariposas monarch, japanese lanterns, cut pattern blankets, Japanese fans, and of course the big handprint flag. They also painted frames and had their pictures in them as place cards…so cool.

One of my favorite things about the event is the My Special Mommy page of the program. Funny stuff, that thing. It’s a fill in the blank about Mommy’s favorite things. Mommy loves to cook spaghetti. When Mommy talks on the phone she talks to Miss Carroll. Mommy would like to take a vacation to Virginia. When I am sick Mommy makes me feel better by giving me the ear infection medicine and warm dinner. Mommy’s job is to help me and my sister. Mommy’s favorite show is a show where there is lots of scary stuff. Mommy likes to wear a red coat. Mommy always says “Dinner’s ready!”.

The funniest ones I have ever heard or that Bubba said about me: Mommy’s favorite show is Hannah Montana to which the mommy replied,”I have never even seen that show!” Or how about Mommy likes to cook…My mommy hates to cook! And then last year Bubba’s Mommy always says…Don’t touch your sister!

