I had a post all written for today but decided to hold off on actually posting it until I was sure it was what I wanted to say. I am so glad that I did because it was sure a sad tale of self pity and woe. I later decided that what I want to talk about today is God. The Big Guy. Sky Daddy(I know this one was said tongue in cheek but I happen to like it). My Higher Power.

During my day I heard two things about God that I thought I would like to write about. One of them had something to do with not shooting the messenger. The second had to do with God being vengeful, judgmental, and down right scary.

I am a Christian. You guys know this about me. I have questioned my religion at times but never my faith. I think this is where we were going when we were talking about not shooting the messenger today. I question key points in the Bible. I enjoy having conversations with people who do not believe as I do. I also enjoy having conversations with people who are very knowledgeable about the Bible. I don’t believe that I will ever understand all there is to know about my God. I do believe that the Bible was written by man. I believe the writings are divinely inspired but ultimately man is flawed and there are parts of the message that are dim and confusing. I also believe that there are parts of the story that God doesn’t want us to know yet or in some cases ever. Because we are small, flawed creatures that will forever be unprepared for His glory. The messengers are flawed. The message is a good one.

In conversation today someone was talking about the God that they knew as a child. The punishing, vengeful God. Big scary guy with a booming voice and debts to call in. Not so much my idea of God. When I look around and consider my religion, my faith, my God I look at the way I was raised and the love that I always felt. We were raised to look at the beauty around us. The love surrounding us. As I got older I asked questions about God and judgment. And I found out that not everyone felt the same way I did about God.

When I moved to Colorado I found myself surrounded by people with great knowledge of the scriptures and religion. I found people with love for those like them. And I found people with love for those around them no matter what they were like. I see the intolerant and I see the tolerant. I think the thing that I have learned the most about while living here is grace. That is what I want the people around me to feel from me. Love and grace.

I don’t need to pray to saints or confess my sins to a priest. Those are all human devices and constraints placed on the almighty. I don’t need an intercessory. I need to open my heart and mind and let my faith lead me. God gives me grace for all the rest.

