Nothing profound to say today. I am basking in the new beginning that I feel on the first couple of days of a new year. It’s one of the best times of the year because everything and everybody seems so new to me. Almost magical. A fresh start. A new road. I think these feelings almost border on the cheesiness of a Hallmark card or movie.

We always have black eyed peas on New Years day. I’m not sure if it’s a southern thing or if others do it too. It’s supposed to be good luck. But I was corrected by an eight year old who said eating them really brings blessings. He’s right. I don’t really believe in luck. I do however believe I am blessed beyond belief. Even when things suck there is almost always something I can find to feel blessed about. Lullibell decided at first that there was no way she was going to eat them but when she heard us talking about good luck and blessings she decided to try them again and then decided that she really liked them and ate about half of what I did! The monsters in my life are the greatest blessing.

So lol and eat your black eyed peas!

