Borders book stores have tagged an atheist book with cards that read “O Come All Ye Faithless”. The book, by Richard Dawkins, is called The God Delusion. I know nothing about this book or the author except that the card is being given to people who buy a copy.

So, why, you may ask, am I posting on this? Because of the controversy that is being stirred up by this card. Members of the Baptist Union of Great Britain and the Evangelical Alliance have commented unfavorably on this card. Borders has been accused of Christian bashing. There has been talk of a boycott.

Amazing. Really Amazing. The more I think about it the more I believe that Christians should be thanking Borders for a bit of free Christmas marketing.

I realize that I sound a bit off right now but stick with me here.

Who did the Lord minister to? The weak. The outcast. The faithless.

Would it be possible for anyone else to look at this card as a call to spread the Good News?

Isaiah 65:1 says

“I revealed myself to those who did not ask for me;I was found by those who did not seek me. To a nation that did not call on my name, I said,’Here I am, here I am'”

As Christians, we are called us to share the love and grace that we have received from God. His love and grace are for all people, not just believers, not just the faithful. How well do we share these beliefs with the “faithless” among us?

 

Faith-1 a: allegiance to duty or a person : loyalty b (1): fidelity to one’s promises (2): sincerity of intentions2 a (1): belief and trust in and loyalty to God (2): belief in the traditional doctrines of a religion b (1): firm belief in something for which there is no proof (2): complete trust3: something that is believed especially with strong conviction; especially : a system of religious beliefs <the Protestant faith>

 

There is a lot of meat to that definition but my favorite description of faith appears in Hebrews 11:1. “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” How is your faith? Are you certain?

 

There is an oft quoted scripture on faith, hope, and love. I am not going to quote it here but I would like to know how do you share yours with the “faithless”?

