Yesterday, Lullibell still had a migraine.  She started not feeling well on Wednesday of last week.  We treat her with over-the-counter meds and caffeine.  So the pediatrician advised me to take her to the emergency room.  After 3 hours of being triaged to the bottom of the list we were finally seen by a nurse.  The doc came in, asked her all the questions she had answered twice already, ran a neurological series of tests and decided that I was under-medicating her.  She was hungry, grumpy, and ready to go home. 

As we were leaving the hospital, we were privileged to view one of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen. It was amazing.  I have never seen so much color before!  Right then I decided that this was God’s gift to us for staying patient and kind to everyone around us even when we really didn’t want to.

 I love to have the opportunity to check out the beauty that surrounds us.  Since we live in one of the most beautiful places in the world it is pretty easy but, then, it has always been easy for me to observe beauty in the natural world.

 Until recently, though, it has not been simple for me to see the beauty in my fellow human.  Don’t get me wrong-I can admire physical beauty as much as the next person.  When it came to the inside though-yikes!!?!?!?!  I was critical and judgemental, not accepting at all.

 I am not completely sure what caused the change.  I believe that, as in anything, it was a combination of many things: having a child, 9-11, becoming more committed to Biblical study, living in a more diverse community, becoming a part of a fellowship that uses the 12 steps, the massacre at Virginia Tech.  All of these things combined to make me take a closer look at the person/people that I meet and become more acceptimg of our differences.

 Reinhold Neibhur is given credit for writing the Serenity Prayer.  There is an expanded version that I always think of when I am having difficulty accepting someone just as they are:

God, grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change, Courage to change the things I can, and the Wisdom to know the difference.

Grant me Patience with the changes that take time, an Appreciation for all that I have, Tolerance for those with different struggles, and the Strength to get up and try again, One day at a time.

An update on Lullibell: Her head seems to be feeling some better and she wants to play more so hopefully we are on the up swing!

